• linkedin
Thursday, 06 June 2013 10:49

Lucy Malmberg Named 2013 Evelyn Timmons Advocacy Award Recipient

“Anyone who knows Lucy will attest to her passion and enthusiasm for her chosen profession of compounding pharmacy.”

Back row, L to R: Steve Timmons; David Sparks, PCCA CEO; Jim Smith, PCCA President.
Front row: L to R: Bill Letendre; Dana Reed-Kane; Sharon Hagan; Lucy Malmberg; Denise Orwick; Diana Harshbarger.

PCCA Member Lucy Malmberg, RPh, FACA, FACVP, Senior Executive Vice President of Wedgewood Pharmacy in Swedesboro, N.J., received the annual Evelyn Timmons, RPh, Advocacy Award at PCCA's Member Appreciation Reception, during IACP’s recent Compounders on Capitol Hill event in Arlington, Va.

Lucy was chosen from 10 nominees, who were all nominated by their peers. She has more than 40 years’ experience in the pharmacy profession, and has been a tireless advocate for compounding, even serving as a resource to legislators and regulators at the state and federal levels to educate them about compounding pharmacy. Lucy has fought for pharmacists’ right to continue providing that care through compounding pharmacy by actively supporting legal challenges at every level of the federal judiciary, up to and including the United States Supreme Court. Playing an active role with a number of associations, she helped form the IACP public affairs task force which created an advocacy program centered on Patients and Professionals for Customized Care, or P2C2, as well as being instrumental in helping raise over $3 million for IACP’s advocacy efforts. She is truly a great example of all the exemplary attributes that Evelyn Timmons demonstrated during her lifetime.

The award was presented by PCCA Vice President of Pharmacy Management Bill Letendre, MS, RPh, MBA, and Evelyn Timmons' son, Steve Timmons, DVM, who gave a speech about his mother prior to the announcement.

Evelyn Timmons, RPh, was a pioneer and nationally renowned figure in the use of hormone replacement therapy for women, as well as a long-standing advocate of pharmacy compounding. She became one of the first female pharmacists in Arizona in 1951, and received numerous national awards during her career, including PCCA’s M. George Webber Compounding Pharmacist of the Year Award in 1995. Evelyn passed away in 2011 at the age of 85.

To pay tribute to Evelyn, PCCA honors the passionate, committed, tenacious, sharing and advocate female compounding pharmacists of today with the Evelyn Timmons Advocacy Award. PCCA staff and members may submit the names of potential recipients for consideration. To be considered for the award, a female compounder must exhibit the following:

  • Has been a PCCA member pharmacist for at least five (5) years
  • Demonstrates commitment in her practice
  • Demonstrates selfless advocacy locally and nationally on behalf of all compounding pharmacists
  • Embraces learning and education
  • Fosters a successful and growing practice
  • Participates in PCCA’s Member Rewards Program

PCCA congratulates Lucy and all of the nominees!

The 2013 nominees:

  • Dee Downing, RPh, Med Shop Total Care, Longview, Texas
  • Gail Fletcher, BsCPharm, Gail’s Apothecary & Compound, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
  • Sharon Hagan, RPh, The Lime in the Coconut Specialty Pharmacy, Lake Ozark, Mo.
  • Diana Harshbarger, RPh, Custom Compounding Centers of America, Kingsport, Tenn.
  • Elaine Ladd, PharmD, BCPS, Ladd Family Pharmacy, Boise, Idaho
  • Shonda Lassiter, RPh, Lassiter Drug, Del City, Okla.
  • Lucy Malmberg, RPh, FACA, FACVP, Wedgewood Pharmacy, Swedesboro, N.J.
  • Harriet Monsell, RPh, The Medicine Shoppe, Belton, Texas
  • Denise Orwick, RPh, Precision Compounding Pharmacy, New Albany, Ind.
  • Dana Reed-Kane, PharmD, NFPPhC, FCP, FACA, FIACP, Reed’s Compounding Pharmacy, Tucson, Ariz.