• linkedin
Wednesday, 15 June 2016 15:30

PCCA Names Cheri Garvin 2016 Evelyn Timmons Advocacy Award Winner

WASHINGTON, DC (June 13, 2016) – PCCA has named Cheri Garvin, RPh, President and CEO of Leesburg Pharmacy and The Compounding Center in Leesburg, Va., as the recipient of the 2016 Evelyn Timmons Advocacy Award. The prestigious award pays tribute to Evelyn Timmons, RPh, a pioneer in the compounding industry, by honoring a passionate, committed, and tenacious female compounding pharmacist who is advancing the compounding pharmacy industry in their community and as a profession.

Nominations were submitted by pharmacy professionals and colleagues from around the country. To be considered for the award, the female compounder must exhibit the following:

  • Has been a PCCA member pharmacist and owner for at least five (5) years
  • Demonstrates commitment in her practice
  • Demonstrates selfless advocacy locally and nationally on behalf of all compounding pharmacists
  • Embraces learning and education
  • Fosters a successful and growing practice

“It is our great pleasure to name Cheri Garvin as the 2016 Evelyn Timmons Advocacy Award winner,” said Jim Smith, PCCA President. “Cheri has dedicated her career to serving patients, building an effective and caring team, and being an advocate for the compounding pharmacy industry in her community and across the country.”

Cheri’s advocacy efforts on behalf of her community and the compounding industry include:

  • Serving as a resource to local legislators and regulators on pharmacy and compounding related issues;
  • Working with Congress and representatives of the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) around the need for appropriate drug disposal. Shortly thereafter, the National Take Back Initiative launched;
  • Joining forces with Congressman Frank Wolf (R-VA) to educate Virginia residents about Lyme disease. These ongoing efforts have increased awareness of the disease, the limitations of testing, and the controversies surrounding treatment;
  • Working with organizations such as Loudoun Interfaith Relief Board of Directors, John Marshall Bank Board of Advisors, National Association of Women Business Owners, National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) – Compounding Steering Committee, and PCCA’s Advisory Council.

Cheri is also the recipient of several other prestigious awards including the Brava CEO’s Women in Business Achievement Award, NCPA’s Prescription Drug Safety Award and voted one of Loudoun’s Leading Ladies.

Evelyn Timmons, RPh, was a pioneer and a nationally renowned figure in the use of bio-identical hormones for women, as well as a long-standing advocate of pharmacy compounding. As one of the first female pharmacists in Arizona, she received numerous national awards during her career. Timmons was the first woman president of the American College of Apothecaries (ACA), and was among the first full fellows of the International Academy of Compounding Pharmacists (IACP).